Atlantic Canada, 2005

Home | Site Map | Cruising | Logs | Seminar | Writing | Growing Old | Photos | Nuggets | Contact

Next slide
Previous slide
Go to the last slide

This is the Lunenberg Academy building, a stunning edifice known locally as the "Castle on the Hill."

Built in 1893 after the old Academy was destroyed by fire, it's the only intact 19th century Academy building left in Nova Scotia.

The Academy is owned by the Town and housed grades 1 - 12 until 1965 when a new high school was built. Today, it is an elementary school for 165 students.

 

Return to Photo Album Index